Got a cancellation question? Select one of the questions below to find your answer quickly:

  1. How do I cancel my active subscription?

  2. How do I cancel my free trial?

  3. Why was I charged after cancelling my subscription?

  4. Why was my subscription cancelled without my knowledge?

  5. How will I know when I am approaching the end of my billing period?

  6. Can I cancel my subscription after one month?

  7. What will happen to my illustrations after I cancel my subscription?

  8. I accidentally subscribed to the wrong subscription, now what?

  9. I forgot to cancel

  10. Refunds

    If you don't see an answer to your question here, please contact support.


How do I cancel my active subscription?

To cancel an active subscription, go to your Account page and follow the steps below:

  1. Click on your name in the top-right corner, then select Account from the drop-down menu.

  2. Click the Plan & Billing tab.

  3. Click the Manage Plan button.

  4. Click Continue and cancel plan.

  5. Click the blue button on the bottom, Continue and cancel plan.

  6. When the pop-up card appears, provide us with feedback.

  7. Click the red button on the bottom, Cancel Subscription.


Your subscription will be cancelled at the end of the billing period (e.g. one month or one year after the subscription was made, depending on the cycle you have chosen).

If you have any trouble cancelling your subscription or want to change your plan, please contact support through our live chat.


How do I cancel my free trial?

Cancelling a free trial before the end of the 14-days will ensure that you will not get charged.

To cancel a free trial, go to your Account page and follow the steps below:

  1. Click on your name in the top-right corner, then select Account from the drop-down menu.

  2. Click the Plan & Billing tab.

  3. Click the Manage Plan button.

  4. Click Continue and cancel plan.

  5. Click the blue button on the bottom, Continue and cancel plan.

  6. When the pop-up card appears, provide us with feedback.

  7. Click the red button on the bottom, Cancel Subscription.

Your free trial will be cancelled at the end of the 14-day trial period. If you forgot to cancel your free trial, please contact support through our live chat.

If you'd like to cancel your free trial and start your subscription early, please follow the instructions outlined in this article!


Why was I charged after cancelling my subscription?

Unless cancelled, our subscriptions and free trials are set to automatically renew at the end of your chosen billing cycle (e.g. after one month for monthly plans, one year for annual plans, or four months for undergraduate plans). This means if a subscription is cancelled after its renewal date, a charge attempt will still be made to the credit card on file. The end date of your plan can be found in the Plan & Billing tab.

That being said, we completely understand the frustration of being charged unexpectedly. We consider this to be a refund request and ask that you click here.


Why was my subscription cancelled without my knowledge?

If you've noticed that your subscription has been cancelled without your knowledge, it may be due to outstanding payments associated with your account.

Unless cancelled, we process BioRender subscription payments on the same day every month or year; however, if our payment attempts are unsuccessful after retrying four times within four weeks, your subscription may be automatically cancelled. This can also occur if you have an expired credit card on file. To avoid this, we ask that you please remember to update your billing information as needed!

If you would like to re-activate your subscription, you can certainly upgrade from your Account page! Simply follow the steps outlined in this article, and your plan should be up and running in no time 🥳


How will I know when I am approaching the end of my billing period?

Life can get busy, so we definitely understand how easy it is to forget when a payment is due. We try to help out our users by sending out email reminders about 7 days before a cycle is set to renew!

This reminder will be sent to the email associated with your BioRender account for both monthly and annual subscriptions and free trials. If you receive this reminder and choose to cancel, simply do so before the end of the period and you will not be charged for the upcoming cycle.


Can I cancel my subscription after one month?

If you are subscribed to a monthly billing cycle, you are certainly able to cancel after one month.

Along with amazing premium features, monthly subscriptions provide the benefit of pausing or cancelling your account when you don't need it for the month. Here is what you would select for monthly billing at the checkout:

When you are ready to return, simply re-subscribe and your account and illustrations will be there just as you left them 🎉


What will happen to my illustrations after I cancel my subscription?

After cancelling your premium subscription, your account will be downgraded back to our free plan - BioRender Basic. While on this plan, your illustrations will still be visible; however, you are only able to open and edit 5 illustrations at a time. If you choose to delete those illustrations, more will become available.

If you decide to re-subscribe to a premium plan, you will be able to open and edit as many illustrations as you'd like without limitations 💙


I accidentally subscribed to the wrong subscription, now what?

We consider these refund requests and therefore require you to follow our refund guide by clicking here.


How to contact support:

For any other inquiries, simply click the blue bubble in the corner and select the most relevant option.

Did this answer your question?