Sharing your BioRender illustrations with collaborators Sharing your BioRender illustrations with collaborators

Sharing your BioRender illustrations with collaborators

Stefan Pintaric Stefan Pintaric

You can share your files with a friend or colleague in BioRender! All you need is the email address they use with their BioRender account. After you’ve shared the illustration, any changes you or your colleague(s) make will be reflected in the illustration.

Illustrations can be shared from the Gallery or directly from the Canvas.

  1. Share your Illustration from the Gallery
  2. Share your Illustration from the Canvas
  3. Manage collaborator permissions

Share your illustration from the Gallery

  1. Click the ••• button (horizontal ellipsis menu icon) beside the illustration, then click Share.

 

2. Enter the email(s) you’d like to send the illustration to, click Add, then click Send Invite. You may add multiple email addresses and set permissions.

3. If your collaborators do not have a BioRender account, they will receive the sharing invitation email, and be asked to sign-up for an account to collaborate. If your collaborators have a BioRender account associated with the email address, they will receive an email invitation to the shared file, and the shared file will be shown in their “Shared Files”.

Share your Illustration from the Canvas

This can be done using the Share button or the File Menu under Share.

To share from the Share Button:
  1. From the top-right corner of your canvas view, click Share.
  2. Enter the email(s) you’d like to send the illustration to, click Add, then click Send Invites. You may add multiple email addresses.
  3. If your collaborators do not have a BioRender account, they will receive the sharing invitation email, and be asked to sign-up for an account to collaborate
To share from the File Menu:
  1. From the top-left corner of the canvas view, click Share and then select Share.
  2. Enter the email(s) you’d like to send the illustration to and click Add, then click Send invite. You may add multiple email addresses.

Manage collaborator permissions

With the Share function, you will still have ownership of the illustrations you create and have the ability to add, remove and set permissions.

Can edit

  • Provides the collaborator the ability to make changes to the illustration, invite additional collaborators and make a copy

Can view

  • Provides the collaborator the ability to view the file and make a copy

To change permissions or remove a collaborator from a file:

  1. Click the Share button from the Gallery, Canvas or File Menu.
  2. Click on the blue text (“Can edit” or “Can View”) on the right-hand side of their account email and name.
  3. Select the new permission you would like the collaborator to have.

Not clear on the difference between sharing an illustration and sending a copy of an illustration? see this article!