Creating and managing a group (πŸ‘‘ Premium Only) Creating and managing a group (πŸ‘‘ Premium Only)

Creating and managing a group (πŸ‘‘ Premium Only)

Stefan Pintaric Stefan Pintaric

If you’re part of an institutional or enterprise license (and not part of a Lab or Team plan) and find yourself frequently working with others within your Premium Organization, you can create a Group to easily share your files. This guide covers setting up a Group, adding and removing members, and managing permissions.

Setting up your Group

  1. Click Edit profile and settings located in the top-right profile menu.
  2. Click Groups.
  3. Click Create New Group and name it.
  4. Invite friends or colleagues to join your group for smoother collaboration


Adding members to your group

  1. Access Manage Groups from the right-hand menu.
    1. If in more than one group, select the correct group.
  2. Click Add Members.
  3. Enter the email addresses associated with their BioRender accounts.
  4. Click Add Members.


Removing Group members

  1. Go to the right-hand menu and click Manage Groups.
  2. If you are part of more than one group, select the correct group.
  3. Find the member and click the three-dot menu "⋯” next to their name.
  4. Click Remove to confirm.
 

Changing Group members' permissions

When you are a part of a Group, your role in that group will be either a member or Admin. Group Admins exclusively hold the authority to manage the membership and role assignments. Your Role in your Group will be different to the Role you set on your Profile page.

  1. Go to the right-hand menu and click Edit Profile and Settings.
  2. If in more than one group, select the correct group.
  3. Locate the member, click the drop-down menu, and choose their new role.
  4. Click Change Role to confirm.


 

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Who can join a Group?

You can invite members from your organization and non-members to join a group. This includes individuals outside of your organization who are on Basic or Premium subscriptions.

  • When I add a group member, does it add them to the institutional license?

No, when you add a group member they will gain permission to the files of that group. Adding a group member will not add them to an institutional license.

  • Is Group membership associated with Premium access?

No, being added to a Group does not grant an individual access to Premium itself. Individuals who have a Basic Free account can be added to groups and files can be shared with them.

Please note if you are on a Basic Free account, the Basic Free account has a five-illustration limit, if you already have five illustrations, you will not be able to access the files shared with the Group.

  • If I am not part of an Institutional license, can I create a Group?

No, you cannot create a Group if you are not part of an institutional license.

  • I belong to a Lab plan, can I create a Group?

Individuals who are on a Lab plan will not be able to create a Group.

  • I belong to an Enterprise plan, can I create a Group?

Yes, you can create a Group if you are a part of an Enterprise plan.