Removing members from your organization Removing members from your organization

Removing members from your organization

Maggie Wann Anderson Maggie Wann Anderson

Manage your organization with ease by removing members from your license.

As the administrator of an organization, you can remove any member of your organization to free up a seat on your license.

What happens when a member is removed?

When a member of an organization is removed:

  • Access: They can continue to login and access their account.
  • Collaboration: Files and folders they shared remain shared. The removed member will remain as a collaborator on all files & folders shared with them.
  • Group Membership: They are removed from groups they were part of.
  • Comments: All comments on files made by the removed member will remain.
  • Notifications: The removed member is notified via email and all organization administrators are notified via email and in-app notification.
  • Public Profile: If the member had a public profile, the profile remains active and their templates will remain publicly available.
  • File Ownership: The member's files can be transferred to another member of the same organization before they are removed. Transferred files cannot be accessed by the removed member.

What's the difference between deactivating and removing a member?

  Deactivate  Remove
The member can still log in and access their account NO  YES
The member takes up a seat on the license NO NO
The administrator can still control member's account and files YES NO 
The member becomes the owner of files not transferred NO YES

 

How to remove members from your organization

  1. Click on your profile in the top right corner of your BioRender webpage.
  2. Select “Admin”.
  3. Under “Account Overview & Users”, find the member from whom you wish to remove from the license.


    How to remove an individual member:

  4. Find the member to remove.
  5. Click the three-dot menu (...) next to their name and select “Remove from license”.
  6. Click “Confirm” on the first page of the pop-up window.
  7. Read through the options in the next two pages of the pop-up window and confirm your selections.

    How to remove multiple members:

  8. Select members using the boxes to the left of their name.
  9. Select Remove from license under the “Actions” button next to the search function in the User Accounts space.
  10. Click Confirm on the first page of the pop-up window.
  11. Read through the options in the next two pages of the pop-up window and confirm your selections.