Deactivating a member from your organization Deactivating a member from your organization

Deactivating a member from your organization

Kat Smith Kat Smith

Keep your organization’s data safe by deactivating members when they leave your organization.

As the administrator of an organization, you can deactivate any member of your organization to prevent them from logging in and accessing their account. A member who has been deactivated can also be reactivated.

What happens when a member is deactivated?

When a member in an organization is deactivated:

  • Access: They can no longer login to access their account.
  • Collaboration: Files and folders they shared remain shared. The deactivated member is removed as a collaborator from all files & folders shared with them.
  • Group Membership: They are removed from groups they were part of.
  • Comments: All comments on files made by the deactivated member still appear.
  • Notifications: The deactivated member is not notified, but all organization administrators are informed via email and in-app notifications.
  • Public Profile: If the member had a public profile, it is deactivated, and their templates are no longer available.
  • File Ownership: The members files can be transferred to another member of the same organization so they aren’t lost.

What's the difference between deactivating and removing a member?

 

Deactivate

Remove

The member can still login and access their account

NO

YES

The member takes up a seat on the license

NO

NO

The Administrator can still control the member's account and files

YES

NO

The member becomes the owner of files not transferred

NO

YES

 

How to deactivate a member from your organization

  1. Click on your profile in the top right corner of your BioRender webpage.
  2. Select “Admin”.
  3. Under “Account Overview & Users”, find the member from whom you wish to deactivate from your organization.
  4. Click on the 3 dots (...) of the member you would like to Deactivate.
  5. Next, Click on Deactivate Account.
  6. You will then have the option to either deactivate the account or remove the member from the license. (If you are deactivating a member, files can be transferred after deactivation).
  7. You can then choose whether you would like to transfer the member's files to another account on the license.
  8. Confirm you would like to Deactivate the member from the license.

How to reactivate a member

  1. Click on your profile in the top right corner of your BioRender webpage.
  2. Select “Admin”.
  3. Under “Account Overview & Users”, find the member from whom you wish to reactivate.
  4. Click on the 3 dots (...) of the member you would like to Reactivate.
  5. Click on "Reactivate account".
  6. Confirm you would like to Reactivate the member on the license.