Managing groups in your organization Managing groups in your organization

Managing groups in your organization

Tawny Fontana Tawny Fontana

Table of contents:

As an Administrator of an organization, you can manage a group within your organization. This will make collaboration easier and ensure the security of your data.

You can invite members from your organization and non-members to join a group. This includes individuals outside of your organization who are on Basic or Premium subscriptions.

How do individual roles differ in a Group?

  • Group-member: View, join a group and share with a group.
  • Group-admin: Manage and delete the group, add or remove users and share with a group.
  • Org-member: Create groups within the organization.
  • Org-admin: Oversee all organization groups and cannot share with a group.
  • All other users: Can join a group.

As the administrator of an organization, how do I create a group?

  1. Click on your profile in the top right corner of your BioRender webpage.
  2. Select “Edit Profile & Settings”.
  3. Under “Groups”, Click on “ Create new group”.
     
    Screenshot 2024-03-24 at 10.02.40 AM.png
  4. Enter the group name. Once you Click on “Create” the page will take you directly to your new group.

Screenshot 2024-03-24 at 10.03.16 AM.png


How do I add members to a group as the administrator of an organization?

  1. Click on your profile in the top right corner of your BioRender webpage.
  2. Select “Edit Profile & Settings”.
  3. Under “Groups” you will see the names of groups in your organization.
  4. You can search for a group by entering the group name. *If there are members from outside of your organization that are part of a group, you will see an exclamation mark next to the number of members in the group.
  5. Click on the 3 Dots in the right-hand column.
  6. Select "Add members" and fill out the details of the members you would like to add in the next pop up window.

How do I delete a group?

  1. Click on your profile in the top right corner of your BioRender webpage.
  2. Select “Edit Profile & Settings”.
  3. Under “Groups” you will see all the names of the groups in your organization.
  4. You can search for a group by entering the group name. If there are members from outside of your organization that are part of a group, you will see an exclamation mark next to the number of members in the group.
  5. Click on the 3 Dots in the right-hand column.
  6. Select “Delete” and follow the next windows to confirm the deletion of the group.

Group Overview

In Group Overview, you can change the roles of the group members, download a .CSV file of the member list, resend group invites, remove a member from a group and delete or change the name of the group.

Navigate to the Group Overview page by clicking anywhere on the group or by clicking on the three dots on the right-hand side and selecting “View”.

Screenshot 2024-03-24 at 10.09.07 AM.png

 


To change the roles of group members:

Navigate to the individual's role. You can then update it to Group Member or Group Administrator:

Screenshot 2024-03-24 at 10.09.27 AM.png

 


Download a .CSV file of group data

Navigate to the Group Overview page. Select the group where you would like to download the .CSV document from. You will see the option to download the file on the right hand side where your group members are listed. Click on "Download CSV" and the document will immediately download.

Screenshot 2024-03-24 at 10.10.00 AM.png


Manage group invites (resend Invite, invite or remove a member from a group)

  • Resend an invite: Click on the 3 Dots next to a member or administrator of the group and select Resend invite.
  • Invite a user to the license if they are not a member of the license: Click on the 3 Dots next to a member or administrator of the group and select Invite to license.
  • Remove a member from the group: Click on the 3 Dots next to a member or administrator of the group and select Remove from Group.

Screenshot 2024-03-24 at 10.11.05 AM.png


Change the name of a group

Navigate to “ Edit details” and from there you can change the name of the group name.

Screenshot 2024-03-24 at 10.11.29 AM.png


Delete a group from the Group Overview page

  1. Navigate to “Edit details”
  2. From here, you can delete the group in “Edit group details”
  3. Click on “Delete group” and confirm the action in the following window.

Screenshot 2024-03-24 at 10.11.55 AM.png